Broken Ties – Book Review

I have known Jude for quite some time now. We both were just beginning our blogging journey when I first made his acquaintance and over the period of time, I have come to see him as a friend and a fellow blogger who has some serious talent when it comes to writing.

Like most of you, I used to enjoy his poetry but when I came to know about this (fiction) book that he was working on I was extremely curious. I requested him for a book review, and he was kind enough to provide me with an ARC.

After reading Broken Ties, here’s what I’ve to say. Keep reading.  


AUTHOR: Jude Kirya Itakali

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: 2023

GENRE: Fanatsy · Fiction · Young Adult 

GOODREADS RATING: 4.2/5


Rating: 4 out of 5.

Broken Ties is the second book in the Realms of the Mist series. In this book, Kamau, Ninuwe and Kena find themselves on a quest to assemble God-Killer – a weapon to kill the evil one. This dark and magical journey takes them to different realms of Africa where more challenges await them. In their quest to assemble the weapon they must be ready to lose everything that they hold dear.

The book takes its readers onto a thrilling journey across the beautiful landscapes of Africa. The author has described the geographical terrains with incredible detail, almost painting a scenic picture with his words.

All the different realms with their descriptions and the difference of culture were like a breeze of fresh air which I enjoyed reading a lot. (Note to self: read more geographically diverse authors)

Broken Ties essentially reads like multiple treasure hunts rolled into one huge quest which keeps the readers constantly engaged to read more.

I liked the different characters especially Kamau who is the centerpiece after all. Itakali has done a brilliant job of building so many diverse life-like characters which don’t feel two-dimensional or cardboard cut at all.  

This book is very graphical in its nature. Towards the end of the book while reading the big final showdown, a thought crept into my head that this book needs a video production! I would love to see everything happening on the big screen with real setting and works. (Only if it were that easy. Praying to the movie making gods.)

Since, I read the second book directly it took me some time to get in tune with the characters. Also, it got difficult for me sometimes to keep track of all the different realms and their subplots. I suggest readers should start with book one to get a more wholesome view of the characters and plot.

Moreover, this book ends with a huge cliffhanger which I was not expecting at all (and don’t really like). It would have been better (in my humble opinion) if the author had chosen to cut the story at some different point to provide for some sort of definitive closure/climax along with an ever-looming question to make way for the third book.

Summing up, I did enjoy this book even as a standalone. The author has done a wonderful creative work of building a fantasy new world and everything in it.

I would recommend this book to everyone who loves reading fantasy fiction, treasure hunt tropes, different cultures and geographical setting.

DISCLAIMER: This review is my humble honest opinion. I DO NOT claim to have any authority/intention to add/delete any value of the book or of the author. I wish nothing but success to the author.



Discover more from Bookish Bubble

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

4 responses to “Broken Ties – Book Review”

  1. robbiesinspiration Avatar

    A lovely review of Jude’s book which I also enjoyed.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Bookish Bubble Avatar

      Thank you, Robbie! I am so glad to know that you enjoyed this review and the book, of course.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. judeitakali Avatar

    Thank you so much for this review, Bubble. I deeply appreciate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bookish Bubble Avatar

      I am glad to, Jude!

      Like

Penny for your thoughts?

I’m Akanksha Roy

Welcome to Bookish Bubble, my cozy corner on the web, dedicated to everything fiction. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of creativity, and all things written with a touch of love. Let’s get reading!

Let’s Connect

Fictionary’s Fresh Picks

Brewed from Blog

Daily Writing Prompt

Describe a risk you took that you do not regret.

On My Bookshelf

Archives

Discover more from Bookish Bubble

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading