Book Review: Yesterday- a novel of reincarnation

DISCLAIMER: This review is my humble honest opinion. I DO NOT claim to have any authority/power/intention to add/delete any value of the book or of the author. I wish nothing but success to the author.


AUTHOR: Samyann | ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED: 2014

GENRE:  Fiction · Historical Romance · Historical Suspense

GOODREADS RATING: 3.8/5


Yesterday by Samyann is a historical romance with the central theme of reincarnation. It starts when Amanda Parker miraculously saves a Chicago policeman, Mark Callahan. Both of them instantaneously feel the connection but can’t seem to put a finger on it. Things take an interesting turn when Amanda starts slowly uncovering the layers of her past life taking the readers on a rollercoaster of a journey through time. Her previous life experiences give her a new perspective on love, life and loss which helps her immensely to make important life altering decisions.

As we move deeper into Amanda’s past, the storyline picks up pace making it a thrilling read. The book does justice to the characters from Bonnie’s timeline, and I found them more real and fleshed out than the present ones. I was able to connect easily with them and their truth especially with Bonnie and Jack.

Also, given the book’s historical backdrop, the author has done a commendable job of extensively researching the landmark events to make sure that all historical details and facts are accurate. The scenes from the historic era, the flux during war and the difficulties faced by the civilians (both black and white) have been described with great detail and authenticity.

I picked this book because of its intriguing blurb which promised romance however, I was highly disappointed, to say the least. I found the present plotline very weak and far from reality and no, I am not counting the reincarnation bit.

Even though a full-length novel, it felt like a short story which had to be unnecessarily stretched in a single dimension to fill in the pages with not much to tell. Also, the characters fall flat with no personalities of their own especially, the protagonists. I struggled to develop even the slightest thread of connection with the characters making it very difficult to care about any of it.

The protagonists don’t seem to have anything which could remotely count as chemistry apart from the fact they are somehow “connected” from their “earlier lives” which the author reminds of in every single page and fails to give any actual evidence to support the claim. We as readers are asked to simply swallow this extremely important detail (on which the entire plot rests) with no questions asked.

The book reads very slow, sometimes like a therapist’s journal, with no interesting details or events except for Amanda who is for no reason obsessed with an old antique clock and can’t seem to make up her mind. Her self-pitying routine gets exhausting after a while.  Other than the poorly executed idea, the book is littered with numerous grammatical mistakes which makes it even more unappetizing to read.

I would rate this book two out of five stars as there are a number of things which didn’t work for me. The poorly executed plot, the protagonists with no chemistry, cardboard characters, and clunky monotonous dialogues made the book a tedious task. I feel that with only Bonnie’s plot this book could have been a much better historical fiction which could have been a treat to read.

If you are interested in Chicago’s historical events, American Civil War, subject of reincarnation and regression techniques, you could give this one a try. Maybe, you’ll like it better than I did.



Discover more from Bookish Bubble

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

7 responses to “Book Review: Yesterday- a novel of reincarnation”

  1. Damien de Soto Avatar

    Thank you for the review of this book, I really appreciate it, as a warning that although it sounds like it would be something else, it might be a let down, that lens may give the book a more introspective and analytical reading for me, for this, provided by your interpretation, I thank you genuinely, as it is the most I can ask from a reviewer and the best gift a reader could ask of a reviewer. You provide great insight. Thank you, your review is much appreciated.

    Peace and serenity.

    Damien

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bookish Bubble Avatar

      Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. It is best thing that has happened to me today, honestly. I am so glad to know that you found the post readable.
      Cheers and take care

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Damien de Soto Avatar

        So glad I could help, your response helped me as well, I like knowing I helped someone, I can be hard on myself/self-deprecating.

        Hope you are having a good rest of the day. I am always here if you need an ear or eye and hands to type back, heh. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Bookish Bubble Avatar

          You did help! And you are enough for yourself, no matter what, there’s no need to be self-deprecating. Stay blessed.
          And,
          It is good to know that there is someone behind this screen with an ear or eye and hands to type back, heh 😉
          Have a good day. Thank you, again. 🙂

          Like

          1. Damien de Soto Avatar

            I appreciate your kind comments, and support, they help more than you know. You just reminded me of Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol, there is a song about that on there. I always identified with that song. It is nice to know that the community of bloggers on here are so receptive to being a friend. It has been a life saver for me, I am always glad to be that for others now. It helps me as well.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Bookish Bubble Avatar

              I’ve not heard the song, but so glad to have brought it up for you. although accidentally. I know what you mean, it has helped me as well in many ways. Keep spreading joy, Damien.

              Like

              1. Damien de Soto Avatar

                Thank you for your kind words, they mean the world to me.

                Liked by 1 person

Penny for your thoughts?

I’m Akanksha Roy

Welcome to Bookish Bubble, my cozy corner on the web, dedicated to everything fiction. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of creativity, and all things written with a touch of love. Let’s get reading!

Let’s Connect

Fictionary’s Fresh Picks

Brewed from Blog

Daily Writing Prompt

Describe a risk you took that you do not regret.

On My Bookshelf

Archives

Discover more from Bookish Bubble

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading